Blog Chain: What do you do when you are stuck?

Hello, the Blog Chain of Awesomeness! First of all, I must apologize (again…) for my inconsistencies for the past several weeks. I’m very sorry for my forgetfulness…and it will NEVER EVER EVER happen again. Never.

So, my question for this week is: What do you do when you are stuck?

For me, getting stuck is simply the worst thing that can ever happen when I write. I need the “flow”. I need to be inspired. I can’t write unless I feel like writing. If I don’t feel like it, I won’t write at all.

The problem is, I can hardly get any writing done that way…

So I am eager to hear from you guys! For me, if I am stuck, the first thing I do is blurt out my problem to someone I know. For example, Lin. If she saw on her MSN screen, “I am stuck omgggggggggggg” and a distressed penguin, then she knows I am desperate. Haha. Talking to other writers really help a lot, since they offer you lots of advice. Sometimes, I just complain and let my frustration out, and I will sit down and start writing again. Or figure out how to continue to write, that is. Find out what the problem is, etc.

I suffer a lot from writer’s block, but I rarely get stuck on plot or anything like that. (maybe it’s because I haven’t attempted to write a lengthy novel yet) but when I do get stuck on plots I read over my original outline/plan, and decide what I should do.

Or, sometimes I just switch from one language to another. For instance, I write in English and I get stuck, I start writing in Chinese instead. Always works. I never get stuck on both languages before. Switching languages also eases my guilt of “not writing enough”. Haha.

So there you have it…

Rest of the week:

Monday: right here

Tuesday: From Elysium

Wednesday: Lin Wang – Teen Writer

Thursday: Sometimes Helpful Nonsense

Friday: Girl With A Notebook

2 thoughts on “Blog Chain: What do you do when you are stuck?

  1. Excellent question. Writer’s block sucks, doesn’t it? Man, you’re going to make me talk about it? My number one rule is pretending writer’s block does not exist.

  2. I should probably try writing in Russian when I get stuck — then my parents wouldn’t bug me about my Russian so much. Unfortunately, I have so many projects in English, and I type so slowly in Russian, and my spelling is so atrocious, that I never seem to get around to it… =]

    Great question, by the way. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone does to get unstuck.

Leave a Reply

