Blog Chain: How has writing affected your life?

This week’s question was started at From Elysium: How has writing affected your life?

Well, for me, writing has always been part of my life. It has always been there from the start, like something I was born with. Writing is my heart and soul.

Having that said…throughout my elementary school years in Taiwan, I grew up in praises from teachers and parents that naturally brainwashed me and convinced me how “good” I was. Eventaully I received a wake-up call and I had to reevaluate my ability and extinguish that extreme pride of mine. In my earlier years as a child I was really arrogant about my writing, and refused to accept any negative comments.

Later on I began to view writing more seriously and realisticly, and I was gradually humbled. Thank Goodness I was humbled! Or I wouldn’t be able to progress at all. I was so spoiled by the teachers and I lived in my own little infantile world for so long. I am glad that I am no longer in that limited realm.

Pretty much whatever I do is to prepare myself as a writer, so writing basically dominates my life. I am going to become a professional writer, and I have been working hard towards that goal. Taking classes, writing as much as I can, expanding my vocabulary, learning about the publishing industry, trying to be more diciplined…

Writing=my life.

Also, guys…I am really sorry that I am super forgetful (again…) I promised to not do it but it’s happening over and over and over and over…*sigh*…it’s summer, and to be honest I’m just so lazy…and so many things are happening in my life I have little time to think about anything else…so I must once agian ask for forgiveness from all of you.

Check out the posts from earlier this week:

Monday: From Elysium
Friday: here
Next Week:
Tuesday: here
Thursday: From Elysium
2 thoughts on “Blog Chain: How has writing affected your life?

  1. Ah, summer makes the best of us forgetful. It’s ending soon, though. T-minus 12 days for me.

    I can’t believe you can write in English and Chinese still. And it’s very cool that you wrote from such a young age.

  2. Eh, it’s okay. I tend to be forgetful too… =]
    It’s cool that you can be so focused. Me? I know I want to write for the rest of my life, but I also know I want to do a whole bunch of other things, so I’m stuck being all over the place.

Leave a Reply

