Blog Chain: 5 Tips for New Writers

THANK YOU SO MUCH LIN FOR REMINDING ME. THANK YOU.

Hello, the Blog Chain of Awesomeness!

This week’s blog chain started at Sometimes Helpful Nonsense. So here I am, as I’ve been writing all my life, offering newbies some tips as a “pro”. Here we go:

1.  Believe in your dream. I know it sounds cliche and everything, but that’s what I always do. I’ve met people who are extremely blunt, who blurt out “Oh but you’ll be hungry!” or “but writing is a pretty poor job!” when I told them I wnat to be a writer in the future. They just don’t get it. I wonder how JK Rowling got so rich, eh? Well, I’m not saying anyone can be as successful as her, because she really is one fortunate lady. Wrote the right book at the right time, and read by the exact right generation. Anyway. Having, keeping and believing in your dream is really important. It’s important to me. I have never ceased to believe in my dream, ever since I was a kid. I always tell people that I want to be a writer, even now. What I’m saying is, you can do whatever you want to do, as long as you set your mind to it and have the right attitude. Don’t ever give up.

2. Be realistic. Ok. That’s the other side of being a dreamer. Face it, it’s the real world…I, myself, had grown out of my childish dreams. I always thought I would be a world-famous writer when I grow up. Well..not going to happen if I don’t work hard and actually take time to undestand the publishing industry, right? Haha. Do research on writing. You don’t necessarily have to publish a book to be a professional writer. There are so many things a writer can do. Books, magazines, screen plays, radio writing, commercials, ads, instruction books…everywhere you see words printed, who do you think wrote them?? WRITERS!!! So jobs for a writer are everywhere…some people are too fixated on the typical image of a writer. Poor. Passionate…yeah. You get the point.

3. Write down your ideas. For me, if I don’t write it down, I forget. So I write everything down onto a notebook for future use. Write down your dreams, too, for that matter. I’m constantly inspired by my dreams. I used to wake up in the middle of the night and start writing down my dreams lest I forget. I don’t do that any more because school work became heavier and I just had to spare more time for sleep. Write down whatever that inspires you.

4. Keep the things you wrote. I still have my English homework from grade 9. I even have my writing back in grade 1. My mom kept most of my childhood things. I started keeping my own by putting them into a “memory box” since grade 9. I read it a year after and I laughed my head off. Imagine reading it when you’re an adult. Never throw things away! Those are your precious memories that you don’t want to lose. Keep everything. I’m sure you can generate some space for it. Don’t throw things away!! NEVER!!!

5.  Save every time you stop writing. YOU HAVE TO DO IT. Imagine you wrote 500 something words and the computer dies on you and you didn’t save? That happened to me before. After that, I always save whenever I stop typing and to think. I press save whenever I can. Or set auto-save, or something. Make back-ups. Don’t lose your things. NOD+THUMBS UP.

Ok. So that’s my five tips. I hope that helps. And I hope those are not redundant tips. Haha. I still have a long way to go as a writer.

Anyways!

Check out what rest of the Blog Chain has to say:

Monday – Sometimes Nonsense
Tuesday- Flames and Shadows
Wednesday-Girl With a Notebook
Friday-From Elysium

Leave a Reply

