Blog Chain: What are you plans for your career as a writer?

Hello, the Blog Chain of Awesomeness! I shall not forget again. (angry stare from all of you)

This week I get to start the question, so I am asking you: what are your plans for your career as a writer? I’m interested to hear from all of you since we’re in different stages of our lives! ^ ^

For me, I just graduated high school, and right now I plan to learn as much as I can to prepare myself for the professional writer career. At the same time, it wouldn’t hurt to send my writing to publishers, magazines or anthologies to see if anything can happen. If not, it’s good practice anyway.

I plan to major in creative writing at UBC, and hopefully during the following four years at UBC I can obtain a job related to publishing/writing through co-op or referral. After I become an undergraduate student I want to continue to take creative writing at UBC. I would also like to begin to support myself as soon as I can (though my parents kindly offered that I can live with them to save money) but right now many things are still unknown to me. Frankly I do not know what kind of job I will have, and my goal is to at least have $2000  a month when I start (excluding taxes. Well, that’s what my father suggested, since he knows more about this matter…

I guess I’m still young, and many details for the future are still quite vague to me. But my general direction is, get a job related to writing or publishing, become financially stable and live on my own, write and get published while wokring, obtain a Master’s degree in creative writing. I think I might even begin to teach creative writing to children or teenagers, when I’m in my 30’s or something.

Also, I would like to continue to write in Chinese. I might go onto a translating path as well, but this part I am not so sure. For one thing I don’t know if my Chinese can still keep up with my English after university, since I’ll be concentrating on English. For now, my Chinese/English is about equal. But in the future, I don’t know. I don’t want to lose my skills a a Chinese writer, so I’ll definitely take lessons to maintain it. To what degree, I don’t know.

And hopefully, in the future, I can be able to support myself as a full-time writer. Best thing about being a writer is you never have to retire. All I can say is writing is the best job in the world.

Anyways!

See what the rest of the Blog Chain has to say:

Monday: here
Wednesday: From Elysium
Leave a Reply

