Blog Chain: Obsession

This week’s question started at Girl With a Notebook.

Today is Thursday, but I better write it RIGHT NOW or I will forget again. I’ll be packing for dorm tomorrow, so I’ll be busy busy busy!

Anyway. So my obsessions on writing. My very first and obvious is:

DARKNESS.

Welcome to my realm. This is what I do best, and what I am absolutely in love with anything dark, mysterious, ghostly and bloody. Specifically, vampires = love of my life. They’re just too cool. Most of my writer friends know me as someone “dark”, since my favourite themes to write about are death, blood, ghosts, bones, vampires, crimson moon, night, hauntings…

The strange thing is, I’m not a big fan of horror movies. Fiction, I’m okay with, but I just can’t stand watching the Grudge or the Ring or something PURE EVIL and WEIRD like that. I’m okay with blood, though. I love psychology horrors, though I’m often scared to death after I watch them.

Anyways. My second obsession, I would say, is frogs. They are my favourite animal, and I just HAVE to intergrate their appearance somewhere in my story. Speaking of frogs reminds me of this recent short story I wrote…I used dragonflies as a symbol. I love using symbols and figurative language…that’s my other obsession, I guess. I like to keep the readers guessing with vague details.

My last obsession is probably light imagery. I love using words such as dazzling, brilliant, rays, light and glistening…perhaps I should avoid that, since I should branch out into different writing styles and genres.

Anywayz! That’s all.

Check out what the others have to say about their obsessions:

Wednesday: here
Thursday: From Elysium
And next week:
Monday: From Elysium 
Tuesday: here
And school is starting for most of us! Summer ends fast, eh? Good luck to all of you with everything!!! : )
 
One thought on “Blog Chain: Obsession

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a Reply

