I am never watching Alien 4 ever again.

Alien: Resurrection

Directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet

Produced by Bill Badalato, Gordon Carroll, David Giler, Walter Hill

Written by Dan O’ Banon and Ronald Shusett (characters); Joss Whedon (screenplay)

Music by John Frizzel

(This is reposted. Original post from Somewhere Nowhere In My Kingdom)

So the story continues…Ripley is cloned and then “lives” once more. However this time she carries the alien’s DNA as well as her own. She’s been cloned eight times, to be exact. The previous seven are deformed failures.

Anyway. I didn’t think much of the plot. The movie isn’t as long as I expected it to be. I still like Alien 2 the best. I wouldn’t say I enjoyed watching Alien 4, despite the action and the better visual effects. In fact, I practically suffered through the last battling scenes and I will never ever ever revisit this film ever again. It was horrible to watch. The new born alien (produced by the queen alien taken out of Ripley) has some human qualities, such as a “somewhat” skull and facial features, as well as affection for Ripley, whom the alien has mistaken to be its mother.

It was horrible, thinking about it now. The way the alien is killed. I couldn’t take it. I was covering my mouth and I couldn’t move while I was watching the guts being violently sucked out into outer space, and the excruciating scream from the dying alien. Just the memory of it brings me pain. And the look…the look that the alien gives to Ripley when the window is broken. “How can you do this to me, mother?” That look. The look of knowing that its own mother has betrayed it. Its own mother wants to kill it. Its own mother watches it suffer and does nothing about it. Its own mother who watches it die. That look still haunts me. I was so shaken after I finished the film. I was actually sobbing and just–it was just horrible.

I know it’s just a movie. I know that. But I just couldn’t bear it. Maybe some people might even find it funny. The alien is being terminated! Die die die. No. I don’t understand how anyone can feel the slightest amusement watching it die.

It was horrible. I was still thinking about it before I went to bed last night. I am still thinking about it now. It’s cruel and horrifying. It’s so disturbing and I just can’t bear it. I swear I’m never watching Alien 4 ever again. I don’t understand how anyone could watch it again. It felt so real, like I was there, watching it die.

I know it’s not real…but…

(sigh)

Leave a Reply

