Legion

Legion

Directed by Scott Stewart

Produced by David Lancaster, Michel Litvak

Written by Peter Schink, Scott Stewart

Music by John Frizzell

(This is reposted. Original post from Somewhere Nowhere In My Kingdom)

Watched “Legion” last night.

Well, it wasn’t as good as I expected it to be. I think the trailor sent the wrong message: that it’s going to be an action-packed horror movie (although it is, but there are other things going on as well…). The story moves too quickly, in my opinion. With the lack of details, I kind of formed explanations of my own to fill in those holes. I wish the movie was longer…especially when Charlie is giving birth (she’s the one who’s supposed to give birth to Jesus’ second coming), that’s like the most important part of the movie! If the child lives (which he does), then the entire human race’s fate will change. Michael, originially, is sent to prevent that from happening. Later on Gabriel takes on what Michael forsakes to do and comes after the child. Since he’s never meant to be born, then the moment he is given birth should be addressed as a crucial scene. In the movie, it’s over in a minute, no struggle or fear or nothing…I feel it’s a bit of a let-down.

Anyways. I still loved the movie. At first I was kind of confused, because it was different from what I expected…(which is a mindlesly-killing-machine-gun-shooting horror movie) I was slightly disappointed by the “lack” of action, but found other valuable things in the movie, nevetherless. For example. there are some wonderful lines:

“When God chose your kind as the object of his love, I was the first in all heaven to bow down before you. My love and my hope for mankind was not less than his. But I have watched you trample that gift. I’ve watched you kill each other over race and greed. Waging war over dust, rubble and words in old books. And yet in the midst of all this darkness, I see people who will not be bowed.”–Michael, said to Jeep, who asked Michael why he hasn’t lost hope for mankind yet.

And this is one of my favourite parts:

Gabriel: “You have a question?”

Michael: “I question myself, and so should you. Since their creation, He has only taught us to love. I cannot stop.”

Gabriel: “They brought this judgement upon themselves.”

Michael: “They are just lost. It’s our place to guide them.”

Gabriel: “It’s our place to obey.”

Michael: “Tell me, Gabriel. Are you a son who wishes to give his father what He’s asked for, or what he needs?”

Gabriel: “This is not your test, Michael. How dare you listen to his heart?”

Michael (putting his hand over his heart): “Because he made this one. It tells me we shouldn’t lost faith now.”

I really like the relationship between Gabriel and Michael. In some ways they are like brothers, since they share a common “father”–which is God. Gabriel is the obedient one, always eager to please “daddy” while Michael is the rebellious one…(he cut off his wings and decides to help save mankind) When Michael comes back from his death (yep…Gabriel killed him), he says:

Gabriel: “This can’t be. You’ve disobeyed him.”

Michael: “You gave him what he asked. I gave him what he needed.”

And then Gabriel looks at Michael with such deep resentment…(Michael, the rebel, still ends up winning God’s favour…)

Well…before I watched the movie, the only reason that I wanted to watch the movie was because of Kevin Durand LOL and well the dark angels are just cool. And now I’m having a crush on Kevin AND Paul Bettany (Michael)…haha.

Anyways! That was my “review” for Legion…(which lacks organization severely…but oh well)

(thanks to King. R for correcting some of the wrong lines.)

Leave a Reply

