Watchmen (The best superhero movie…ever)

Watchmen

Directed by Zach Snyder

Produced by Lawrence Gordon, Lloyd, Levin, Deborah Snyder

Based on Watchmen by Dave Gibbons and Alan Moore

Music by Tylor Bates

(This is reposted. Original post from Somewhere Nowhere In My Kingdom)

Anyways. Watchmen is AWESOME. A fine portrayal of where we are today. The origin or corruption: oil, politics, nuclear power…greed that prevents the world from moving forward, dark desires that allow no advancement. I love the ending, although I’ve heard that in the original novel/graphic novel the ending is quite different. However, without any preconceptions to the movie, I thought Wathmen is a brilliant film, in the aspects of plot, characters and dialogues.It has to be the best movie with the superhero theme. Almost all of the characters are memorable, especially Rorschach. He is by far one of the characters I am madly in love with and passionate about. (Well, I kind of wished he would shower more, but he’s homeless…)

In fact, I am really impressed with the dialogues, especially Rorschach’s narration. He is badass. He has a demented sense of justice; violence vs violence, blood vs blood. It’s unbelievable that I grew so fond of him when I strongly oppose using violence as a method to “do the right thing”. Yes, he is doing the right thing, and he thinks that all criminals and the society’s low-life deserve their punishment–which is death. I, for one, believe in second chances and forgiveness (which this world severely lacks)

I guess you could say that Rorschach is a product of the society’s shadows. His mother is a prostitute, and he practically grew up on the “dark side”. His strong, poignant judgement of the wronged seem to me a sort of disdain, and you could almost argue the true meaning of his actions. He says “justice matters”, but is violence really the way to stop chaos?

Despite ALL THESE THOUGHTS, I can’t believe I’m still on Rorschach’s side. As a character he has a strange, dark captivation. His actions are completely justified in my mind! But if he were a real person, I would be terrified of him.

Or maybe his long coat and hat are just provoking my favouritism. I have a thing for long coats. I think men look great in them. A mature and mysterious air.

Okay, off topic here. Anyway. My second favourite character is probably the Comedian. Like Rorschach, he’s very violent. Even more so, I would say. More reckless. He tried to rape one of his collegues, and he shot a Vietnam girl whom he got pregnant (and who also scratched his face with a broken bottle). Once he’s provoked and angered or even annoyed, he’s completely uncontrollable. But…having seen all his wrong-doings, I am still unable to condemn him. It’s amazing how these characters are all violent, their existence and placement can still manage to grab your interest and get you on their side.

I haven’t much to say about the Comedian. The other characters…Miss Jupiter/Laurie is…I don’t know. I guess I don’t like her. Maybe it’s because of her acting. It’s so flat, and I can’t help but agree with one of the comments about her that I’ve seen on the internet: she’s a whore. I mean, throughout the movie, that’s pretty much what she does: have sex with the other male-leads. Even her role with Jon/Dr. Manhattan is as deep as a puddle. The “Batman”/Dan…I don’t know about him, either. Honestly he hasn’t done much but punch people and sleep with Laurie.

Anyway. Adrian/The Smartest Man in the World is also an interesting character. I love the nerdy hair, but it isn’t too overdone. He looks really good in his cape, and he is the one who “saves man kind” by tricking the world that Dr. Mangattan is the common enemy. It’s sad and pathetic, if you think of it. Having one common enemy is the only condition in which humans would unite. What does that tell you about our world? And this is completely random, but I love his TV controller! LOL It’s sort of shaped like a pyramid, because he has a keen interest for the ancient Egyptian pharaohs.

Some AWESOME lines from Rorschach:

“Never compromise. Not even in the face of Armageddon.”

“None of you seem to understand. I’m not locked in here with you. You’re locked in here with ME!”

“Heard a joke once: Man goes to doctor. Says he’s depressed. Says life is harsh and cruel. Says he feels all alone in a threatening world. Doctor says, “Treatment is simple. The great clown Pagliacci is in town tonight. Go see him. That should pick you up.” Man bursts into tears. Says, “But doctor… I am Pagliacci.” Good joke. Everybody laugh. Roll on snare drum. Curtains.”

“Rorschach’s Journal. October 12th, 1985: Dog carcass in alley this morning, tire tread on burst stomach. This city is afraid of me. I have seen its true face. The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout “Save us!”… and I’ll whisper, no. ”

“Fine like this.” (walks out into Antarctica.)

Anyway…Rorschach is awesome!! He’s going to be one of the characters that stay with me for the rest of my life. I am going to read the novel, soon, hopefully. And maybe the graphic novel.

Let’s see…anything else I didn’t mention…OH, one more thing. When Laurie and Dan are having sex, the WORST version of “Hallelujah” plays. OMG. The song is utterly butchered…both by the version itself and the scene. Ugh.

2 thoughts on “Watchmen (The best superhero movie…ever)

  1. That version of “Hallelujah” is actually the original, by Leonard Cohen. The lyrics of “Hallelujah” contain double entendres that refer to sex – eg “remember when I moved in you… and every breath we drew was hallelujah.” Leonard Cohen wrote 80 verses for the song, many of which were far more sexually explicit than the verses that ended up in the final version. So I think putting that song with the sex scene was apt, because the song is actually meant to refer to achieving orgasm through sex.

    (P.S. I stumbled across your blog from your 8tracks cello playlist, and am enjoying reading it. Hope it’s OK that I am commenting, though you don’t know me!)

    1. It is? I guess I’m just so used to ballad covers (from Shrek, K.D. Lang) that the original version sounded weird. And I knew the lyrics were referring to sex, but personally I just didn’t feel the song connected to the scene at all. And feel free to comment all you want. :D

Leave a Reply

