Rebecca Black’s “Friday”–worst song ever?

It took me a while to get to this review because it just occurred to me yesterday that the notoriety this song receives is absolutely ridiculous…and why do I say that?

It occurred when my friend informed me while we were hanging out that Rebecca Black has a new single. She showed me the song on Youtube, and as I listened to it–I thought, hey, it’s not that bad. I think the new style suits her voice, although it’s been autotuned as well. I wasn’t too hyped up about the song but it wasn’t a horrible one.

“It’s even worse than the first one,” she said.

Initially, I was caught up in the wave and became a hater, because everybody’s hatin’ the song, of course it’d be alright if I hate it, too. It feeds the daily conversations. It’s something to talk about. Rebecca Black–just the mentioning of her name is enough to generate significant darkness into the words we speak. This viral hit draws out the critic in all of us.

However, I think that our harsh criticisms are barely reasonable. “Friday”, after it became an overnight sensation, is attacked on every single angle–its lyrics, its singer, and its existence.

First of all, its lyrics. Sure, it is a series of mundane, unpolished descriptions of a regular day of a teenager. When I read it without the music, I thought it was pretty horrible. It doesn’t rhyme, it doesn’t mean much, and anybody can write a “crappy” song like that–

Of course. That is the truth. Anybody can write a song like that. Anybody can write song lyrics these days, and I mean anybody. But crappy? Yeah, I agree it’s pretty bad with absolutely no depth at all. It’s the worst stream of consciousness there is. BUT (here’s my “but”) with the music industry’s standards nowadays–the magical auto-tune and the ever-popular song contents about money, women and sex or variations of those themes–please, define crappy for me.

7am, waking up in the morning
Gotta be fresh, gotta go downstairs
Gotta have my bowl, gotta have cereal
Seein’ everything, the time is goin’
Tickin’ on and on, everybody’s rushin’
Gotta get down to the bus stop
Gotta catch my bus, I see my friends (My friends)

Kickin’ in the front seat
Sittin’ in the back seat
Gotta make my mind up
Which seat can I take?

I mean, if you listen to the songs on mainstream these days and compare “Friday” to the songs on mainstream–hey, this is actually something different. I don’t really know what people are criticizing. Sure, it’s bad lyrics, but how is it the worst song ever written? For some reason it’s somehow worse than singing about “I want you to love me, like I’m a hot guy” or repeating “I gotta a feeling, that tonight’s gonnna be a good night” over over–or, singing something as vulgar and retarded as “I just had sex; a woman let me put my penis inside of her.”

And how come these songs are getting millions of hits on Youtube, receiving positive comments and popularity? Doesn’t that say something about our society? What most of us consider “entertainment” is skewed and crooked, but I suppose it resonates with what we all crave for–money, women(men), and sex.

But how come there aren’t really pop songs from a female singer, singing about how hot a guy is and how much she wants him? It nearly always involves the pop diva singing about offering sexual pleasure, or something like “tonight, I’ll let you be the captain.” (You see how the things around constantly reflect the gender constructions? But that’s a completely different matter.)

On a random note, I recall coming across this song a while ago by Jessie J., called the “Price Tag.” The lyrics are pretty decent, and for once they’re not about money, women and sex. Yes, it is about money, but it’s different from the shit (sorry) that the pop songs usually bring to us. I don’t know why people are leaving Youtube comments like “She’s singing about this and shes’s probably making a lot of money and spending it wrongly”. I don’t think the way she spends her money is any of your business, bro. And people keep talking about “her free concert” or the song being too preachy and crap (sorry). It just makes me angry.

So you’d rather pay to see a song about hotel motel holiday inn or anything that’s like COME AND HAVE SEX WITH ME, WHOOOT! Explain your logic to me, I beg you. For once, the lyrics are MEANINGFUL. I’m sick of listening to songs about how sexy a girl’s ass is, or getting high in a party–though, I must say, at times I do compensate the lyrics quality for a nice tune–but eventually I let it pass. It’s funny because–the songs with good lyrics and a good tune are songs that last longer–I wonder if people noticed that. For example, “Hey Soul Sister” by Train–it’s a smash hit and I find myself able to listen to it over and over and over–and just look at its lyrics.

Your lipstick stains on the front lobe of my left side brains
I knew I wouldn’t forget you, and so I went and let you blow my mind
Your sweet moon beam, the smell of you in every single dream I dream
I knew when we collided, you’re the one I have decided who’s one of my kind

It’s absolutely wonderful. In fact, I was so thrilled when I heard this song on the radio and just how “unshitty” this song is. But that’s an understatement. It’s a brilliant write with beautiful music as well as a catchy tune. What a gem. You don’t know how rare these kinds are songs are these days.

Anyway. Back to my original topic. (Smooth transition there, Kim!) I was talking about the “awful” lyrics in Rebecca Black’s song, Friday. The second thing it was criticized for was the singer’s voice. Sure, it’s been autotuned, therefore she’s criticized for being unable to sing.

Well, sheesh. Who doesn’t autotune these days? All those stupid techno. It’s all autotune. You don’t need talent to sing these days. Rihanna autotunes. Lady Gaga autotunes (but yes she can still sing brilliantly). Justin Bieber autotunes. Who doesn’t? Honestly, I don’t understand what the big fuzz is about. Rebecca Black is just one girl. And I have checked out videos on Youtube in which she sings live, and I got to hear her voice without any technical filter. I admit that she’s not the best singer I have heard, but she’s not the worst either. It’s like she’s a scapegoat for all the trollers to hate on. Somehow her song, “Friday”, has managed to ignite that spark of hatred and accidentally and unluckily, she became the target and received those hatred.

I mean, the song is not that bad. The lyrics are kind of stupid, but they’re okay. The tune isn’t bad either; it’s actually kind of catchy. Rebecca’s voice (after autotuning) is just a typically “voicer” in a techno/dance song. It’s most definitely NOT the worst song ever, considering how many retarded songs are out there.

(What was that song about “do it like they do it on the discovery channel”? Now THAT’S a horrible song.)

Just really bad timing, I guess. It’s like so many people hate Justin Bieber, for what? I don’t really like him because that’s only because I don’t listen to his music, and I don’t have much to say about him. I don’t hate him. Okay, yes, initially when the “hate wave” began, I did hate him because others were hating him. I managed to overcome that unreasonable dislike after a few weeks. It’s the same with Rebecca Black. I overcame that “hatred”.

I realized that it’s completely pointless, and calling the song “shallow” or “stupid” just because everybody’s doing it or just hating it for the sake of it just shows how shallow and stupid I am. If I dislike something, I would like it to be an “informed” dislike. Why hate something for no apparent reason? And why would you hurt someone innocent or leave menacing comments under her Youtube video, just because? Things like “OMG MY 3 YEAR-OLD COUSIN IS CRYING THIS SONG SUX” or something equivalent are beyond my comprehension. Actually, not really, I just think the whole Rebecca Black thing is stupid. Not the singer herself, just the way people respond to her. And I think that the way things become justified in our minds just because a bunch of people are doing it, too, so why can’t I? is absolutely appalling.

I disapprove of it, but I guess I can’t help it. That’s just the way people are. There really aren’t many horrible things in the world. We just see it that way, rationally or irrationally.

I better stop myself before this post turns utterly philosophical.

And anyway. If you’ve read from top to bottom, thanks for putting up with my completely disorganized rant. Peace. <3

And here’s Rebecca Black’s new song. “Like” it to fend off the haters. Thanks in advance.

2 thoughts on “Rebecca Black’s “Friday”–worst song ever?

  1. After reading the lyrics to “Friday”, I immediately thought of Dana Carvey’s “Broccoli Song” where he’s just making up the lyrics as he goes, just throwing together random singer-songwriter-type phrases until the hystrionical coda in which he sings about a woman chopping broccoli…

    So, I’d nominate “Friday” for best unintentional parody…

Leave a Reply

